Teacher Feature – Leighton

We caught up with Leighton in the office today, to find a bit more about the newest member of the Swimtime Manchester and Stockport family.

What’s your favourite swimming stroke, and why?
I’ve always been a breaststroke swimmer, because after years of suppressing this style of kick in my lessons as a child, my favorite swimming teacher encouraged me to practice breaststroke, and started entering me in competitions.

Why did you become a swimming teacher?
Due to a knee injury, I couldn’t swim, so started teaching instead. When you can’t do, you teach!

How long have you been teaching swimming for?
I’ve been volunteering as a teacher since I was 16, and professionally for over 2 years now. I’ve been a swimmer all my life, and competitively since I was 9 years old.

Webp.net-resizeimage

Tell us something about your hobbies?
Due to my knee problems, I don’t do a lot of swimming anymore. I enjoy snowboarding, which I took up a couple of years ago. I also like to design things digitally, to stay in touch with what I learnt through years of study at school and college.

What’s the best thing about being a swimming teacher?
The look on a swimmer’s face when they realise they can achieve something in the water, which they previously couldn’t or struggled with. I love the fact that I’m teaching people a skill for life.

What is your favourite class to teach at the moment and why?
My first class on Mondays at 4.00pm at Sports Direct Fitness in Sale. At the moment I have four girls who all turn up with big smiley faces, ready to work their socks off in the pool, and they appear to be making excellent progress, as well as growing in confidence every week.

Leighton teaches group classes on Mondays and Fridays at Sports Direct Fitness in Sale, and also on Sundays at the Village Hotel in Cheadle, and the Kingfisher Health Club in Reddish. He is also available to book for one to one and one to two sessions at all these venues.

Thanks Leighton!

Leave a Reply

